#24 Matt Vest


Geburtsort:Kettering, OH
Größe:1,96 m
Letzter Verein: Uni Baskets Paderborn


Woher hast Du deinen ersten Basketball?

I grew up watching my dad play basketball so my two brothers and sister would always run out on the floor during timeouts and before/after his games to play.

Durch wen bist du zum Basketball gekommen? Wie alt warst du?

My older brother and my dad inspired me to play from as long as I can remember. It has always been a big part of our family.

Welcher deiner Trainer hat dich am meisten beeinflusst und warum?

My college coach Billy Donlon taught me about true work ethic, being a good teammate, and how to handle adversity. He has made a big impact on my life as a player and person and we continue to stay in contact with each other as much as possible.

Was ist dein persönliches sportliches Ziel?

My goal as an athlete is to be able to say when I’m done playing that I did everything I could to maximize my potential, and positively impact as many people as I can along the way.

Was ist dein persönliches Ziel mit den RheinStars?

This year my goal for the RheinStars is that we buy in to our coaches system, continue to improve throughout the season, and give ourselves a chance to play our best basketball in April. My goal is to finish in the top 2 this season and move up to the BBL next year.

Was ist dein persönliches Ziel für diese Saison?

My personal goal is to do the very best I can on my role. I also will focus on bringing leadership qualities and a commitment to growing/improving in every area of my game.

Gibt es irgendein Zitat, Film, Lied oder Bild, was dich als Sportler begleitet und dich inspiriert?

The hardest thing to do and the right thing to do are usually the same thing.

Hat deine Trikotnummer eine besondere Bedeutung für dich?

I have been number 24 since High School. So for the last 9 seasons I have worn number 24 on my jersey.

Wo ist dein Lieblingsplatz hier in Köln? Gibt es bestimmte Orte die du unbedingt noch besuchen möchtest?

I think my favorite place so far is around the Cathedral in the city center. It is such an amazing piece of architecture plus there is really good shopping and nice restaurants in the area. Cologne is so big that my wife and I are always discovering new things we like!

Was kannst du außer Basketball spielen noch besonders gut?

I think I am a pretty decent cook; I mean for a guy at least hahaha. I really love to eat good food so I’ve tried to improve my skills in the kitchen. I like to cook breakfast food the most!

Welches Gericht kannst du am besten kochen?

Breakfast for sure! Omletes with bacon and pancakes.

Was sind deine Hobbies neben Basketball spielen?

Traveling, cooking, watching movies, watching sports, playing golf, and just being around friends/family.

Was vermisst du am meisten von zu Hause?

The easy answer of course is friends and family, but I also miss free drink refills at resturaunts, bonfires, NFL football on Sundays, and not having to pay for water…. or to use the bathroom…

Wer ist dein Idol?

My idols are my parents, Mark and Laura Vest. Two great people who worked extremely hard and sacrificed a lot to raise me the right way. They have always supported me and loved me unconditionally.

Was war bis jetzt dein größter persönlicher Erfolg?

Accomplishing my dream of becoming a professional basketball player.

Sprichst du noch andere Sprachen außer deiner Muttersprache?

No, but I am trying to learn German.

Mit wem würdest du gerne für einen Tag die Plätze tauschen?

Lebron James. I would like to see what it feels like to play basketball with that level of size, skill, and athleticism.